You. Are. Ugly.

My new favorite moment happened this afternoon while out and about Yeosu with work as usual on Saturday. A flirty old Korean man on the expo tour today really took a liking to me. He struggled with his words as he enthusiastically tried to communicate in English. He placed ย his hand on my shoulder, pointing his finger at my face with a manner full of conviction. ” You, ah… You…are…” He paused, thinking hard.

Suddenly, light bulb. “You. ARE. Uh-guh-ly!” He looked so proud. “Ah! Yes. You are ugly!” I try not to laugh. “Kam-saham-nida! (thank you),” I bowed slightly (what I’m supposed to do when grateful or showing respect to an elder or other benefactor of some kind). He keeps nodding, giving me two thumbs up and smiling broadly. I reciprocate the gesture.

If only he knew. Thanks buddy for giving me a good laugh.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments on “You. Are. Ugly.”

  1. Kayla Woerman November 27, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    Love this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sian Cook November 26, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    ํ•˜ํ•˜! I am a witness to this incident!! Bless him, he tried his best! ๐Ÿ™‚

What did you think?

